SRUC: what Scotland’s Rural College is, and whose degree you actually get

Six campuses, no league table position, and a degree awarded by the University of Edinburgh or Glasgow.

Quick Answer

SRUC is Scotland’s Rural College: a specialist land-based institution with six campuses across Scotland, and it is not a university. Its degrees are awarded by the University of Edinburgh or the University of Glasgow, depending on the course. That is the single most important thing to know about it, and it is not stated anywhere on the front pages of its own website.

It teaches agriculture, animal and equine subjects, environment and countryside management, horticulture, rural business, engineering and sport – from further education through HNC and HND to bachelor’s, master’s and PhD. The Complete University Guide does not rank it, because it is a specialist college rather than a university.

Reviewed by Dr Elizabeth Adey for 2027 entry · Uni Direct team, 2026

Scotland’s Rural College is a public land-based research institution, formed in its present shape in October 2012 and tracing its history to 1899. Its motto is “Anchored locally, impacting globally”, and it is a company limited by guarantee and a registered Scottish charity rather than a chartered university.

It is an unusual institution and the confusion around it is entirely reasonable: it looks like a university, it appears in university directories, and it is not one. What follows is what it is, whose degree you actually graduate with, and what it teaches – the three things an applicant has to establish before anything else. The wider guide is our best UK universities guide.

UK league table

Not ranked

specialist college · CUG 2027

Degrees awarded by

Edinburgh or Glasgow

depending on the course

Campuses

Six

Aberdeen, Ayr, Barony, Elmwood, King’s Buildings, Oatridge

Founded

1899

as the West of Scotland Agricultural College

Higher education students

1,570

2019/20, the most recent published figure

Sources: the Complete University Guide 2027 profile for SRUC Scotland’s Rural College, SRUC’s own website, and the published record for the foundation dates, the campus list and the awarding arrangements. All read 14 September 2026.

What is SRUC?

SRUC stands for Scotland’s Rural College, and it is three things at once, which is why it is hard to place. It is a college teaching further and higher education on six campuses; it is a research institution with six research centres and eight working farms; and it is a consultancy, SAC Consulting, with more than 12,000 rural business clients, 24 offices across Scotland and the north of England, and eight veterinary surveillance centres.

That ordering matters. At most universities the teaching is the institution and the research is attached to it. At SRUC the research and advisory work for Scottish agriculture is the larger part of what the organisation does, and the college sits inside it. If you study there you are studying inside a working agricultural research body, which is a genuine advantage in some subjects and irrelevant in others.

What it teaches

Its further education and undergraduate provision is grouped into six departments: Agriculture and Business Management; Animal and Equine; Engineering, Science and Technology; Environment and Countryside; Horticulture and Landscape; and Sport and Tourism. Qualifications run from vocational and access level through HNC and HND to bachelor’s degrees, and on to master’s and PhD.

It is a specialist, and the specialism is the point. Nobody applies to SRUC for law or medicine. People apply because they want to work in agriculture, land management, animal science, equine or the rural economy, and because SRUC is the institution in Scotland built entirely around those subjects.

Is SRUC a university?

No. SRUC is a college, and its degrees are awarded by the University of Edinburgh or the University of Glasgow depending on the course you take.

That is a better answer than it sounds. If you complete a degree at SRUC you graduate with a degree from one of two ancient Scottish universities, not with a qualification from an institution nobody outside Scotland has heard of. For an international applicant weighing how a degree will read to an employer or a ministry at home, that distinction is worth more than the college’s own name would suggest.

What you must check before you apply

Check which university awards the specific course you are applying for, on that course’s own page, and get it in writing. The arrangement varies by course, it is not stated on SRUC’s front pages, and it is the single most consequential fact about the qualification you would be taking.

It also matters for a second reason. SRUC was re-organised in 2012 in preparation for gaining university-college status with its own degree awarding powers, and that ambition has been part of its public identity ever since. Arrangements that are in transition are exactly the ones worth confirming for your own entry year rather than reading from an older page.

The Complete University Guide does not rank SRUC, listing it as a rural specialist rather than giving it a league table position. That is not a criticism of it; league tables are built for universities and it is not one. It does mean there is no ranking to quote, and you should be sceptical of any site that prints one.

The SRUC building at King’s Buildings in Edinburgh, a plain four storey brick block with cars parked in front
The SRUC building at King’s Buildings, Edinburgh. Photograph by Magnus Hagdorn, CC BY-SA 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

SRUC and the Scottish Agricultural College

If you are looking for the Scottish Agricultural College, this is it. The name is still in wide use and still brings people to this page, so it is worth setting the sequence out plainly.

How SRUC was assembled. Dates from the published record, read 14 September 2026.
YearWhat happened
1899The West of Scotland Agricultural College is established
Early 1900sThe Edinburgh and East of Scotland College of Agriculture and the Aberdeen and North of Scotland College of Agriculture follow
1990Those three merge to form the Scottish Agricultural College
2012The Scottish Agricultural College merges with Barony, Elmwood and Oatridge colleges to become Scotland’s Rural College, initialised as SRUC

Published record for SRUC’s constituent institutions and merger dates, read 14 September 2026.

SAC has not disappeared entirely. The consultancy arm still trades as SAC Consulting, which is why the older name still appears on agricultural advisory documents, veterinary surveillance reports and farm business paperwork across Scotland. If you have been sent something headed SAC, it is the same organisation.

Studying agriculture and rural subjects in Scotland

SRUC is not one campus with six departments; it is six campuses, spread from Aberdeen to Dumfries, each with its own character and its own courses. Where you would study is a real decision and not an administrative detail.

SRUC’s campuses. Read 14 September 2026.
CampusWhereNotes
AberdeenCraibstone Estate, about five miles outside AberdeenAgriculture, organic farming, countryside and environmental management; halls of residence and library
AyrAyr, south-west ScotlandShared with the University of the West of Scotland in an £81 million building opened in 2011, BREEAM excellent
Baronynear DumfriesSet in a working farm estate
ElmwoodFifeLand-based and greenkeeping provision
King’s BuildingsEdinburghOn the University of Edinburgh’s science campus
OatridgeWest LothianLand-based and equine provision

Campus list and locations from SRUC and the published record, read 14 September 2026.

What to weigh if you are choosing between institutions

The comparison most applicants should be making is not SRUC against a ranked university, but SRUC against the agricultural and land-based provision inside one. Several Scottish and UK universities teach agriculture, environmental science and animal science within a conventional university structure, with a league table position attached. SRUC teaches them in an institution built for nothing else, on working farms, with an Edinburgh or Glasgow degree at the end.

Neither is obviously better and the honest answer depends on what you want afterwards. If you want to farm, advise farmers, or work in land management, the practical estate and the industry connections are the argument. If you want a research career or a qualification that reads conventionally on a CV outside agriculture, look hard at the awarding arrangement and at what a ranked university offers in the same subject.

What SRUC costs

We are not going to quote you a fee for SRUC, because we could not read one we trust. On 14 September 2026 its higher education fees and funding page set out the structure – fees depend on undergraduate or postgraduate level, full or part time, and whether you are registered as a Scottish, UK or international student – and carried navigation to the figures rather than the figures themselves. Its international pages do the same.

So the mechanism, which is what we can tell you honestly: the fee that applies to you is the one published for your course, at your level, for your entry year, at the international rate. Because SRUC also teaches further education, make sure the figure you are reading is the higher education one if you are applying for a degree – the two are published separately and they are not close.

SRUC works with authorised international agents in a number of countries. That is normal and it is worth knowing, because a fee quoted to you by an agent is worth checking against SRUC’s own published figure before you rely on it.

On maintenance, what the Home Office requires an applicant to show is published by GOV.UK and changes from time to time. We are not a visa agency and we do not advise on individual applications; GOV.UK is the authority on the rules and we pass cases that need handling to partners. Ask us and we will read the current fee for your course with you rather than leaving you to find it.

Who SRUC suits

It suits somebody who already knows they want to work in agriculture, land management, animal science, equine or the rural economy, and who would rather learn those on working farms than in a lecture theatre attached to a large university.

It suits somebody who values the awarding arrangement once they understand it. Graduating with a University of Edinburgh or University of Glasgow degree, from a specialist college, is a combination very few institutions can offer, and it is a stronger position than the college’s modest public profile suggests.

It does not suit somebody who needs a ranked institution. There is no Complete University Guide position to supply, and if a scholarship condition, a sponsor or a ministry requires a ranked university, that requirement will not be met by the college itself. Establish that before you apply, not after – and note that the awarding university’s own standing may or may not satisfy the condition, which is a question to put in writing.

It does not suit somebody who has not decided on the subject. A specialist college with six land-based departments is a poor place to change your mind, and the flexibility a large university gives you to switch course is the thing you are trading away.

Dr Elizabeth Adey

Elizabeth’s view

SRUC is the institution I most often have to explain rather than recommend or warn against. Almost everyone who asks me about it has found it in a university directory and assumed it is a university, and the first job is always the same: it is a college, and the degree comes from Edinburgh or Glasgow.

Once that lands, opinions usually improve rather than worsen. A specialist land-based college where the qualification carries an ancient Scottish university’s name is a genuinely good arrangement, and I have never had a student regret the teaching.

What I insist on is getting the awarding body in writing for the specific course. It varies by course, SRUC does not put it on its front pages, and the institution has been working towards its own degree awarding powers since 2012, so arrangements can change. Ask, and keep the answer.

My caution is about sponsors. If a government scholarship or a family condition requires a ranked university, SRUC will not satisfy it on its own name, and whether the awarding university satisfies it instead is a question for whoever is paying. That conversation belongs in the autumn, not the spring.

The thing I actually like is the estate. Eight working farms and a consultancy advising twelve thousand rural businesses is not a teaching prop; it is the industry, and students are inside it.

Frequently asked questions about SRUC

What does SRUC stand for?

Scotland’s Rural College. The initialism was adopted in 2012, when the Scottish Agricultural College merged with Barony, Elmwood and Oatridge colleges.

Is SRUC a college or a university?

A college. It is a public land-based research institution, a company limited by guarantee and a registered Scottish charity. Its degrees are awarded by the University of Edinburgh or the University of Glasgow depending on the course. The arrangement is set out above.

Whose degree do you get if you study at SRUC?

A University of Edinburgh or University of Glasgow degree, depending on which course you take. Check the awarding body on the page for your specific course and keep the answer in writing, because it varies and it is not stated on SRUC’s front pages.

Where is SRUC?

Across Scotland, on six campuses: Aberdeen (Craibstone), Ayr, Barony near Dumfries, Elmwood in Fife, King’s Buildings in Edinburgh, and Oatridge in West Lothian. There is no single main campus.

What is SRUC ranked in the UK?

It is not ranked. The Complete University Guide lists it as a rural specialist with “University League Table: Not ranked” and carries none of the measures ranked institutions carry, because league tables are built for universities and SRUC is a college.

Is SRUC the same as the Scottish Agricultural College?

Yes, in substance. The Scottish Agricultural College was formed in 1990 from three regional agricultural colleges and became Scotland’s Rural College in 2012. The consultancy arm still trades as SAC Consulting, which is why the old name is still in circulation.

What subjects does SRUC teach?

Land-based subjects in six departments: agriculture and business management; animal and equine; engineering, science and technology; environment and countryside; horticulture and landscape; and sport and tourism – from access level and HNC through to master’s and PhD.

How many students does SRUC have?

The most recent published higher education figure we could find is 1,570 for 2019/20, of whom 1,485 were undergraduates. That covers higher education only; SRUC also teaches further education, and the figure is several years old.

When was SRUC founded?

Its oldest constituent, the West of Scotland Agricultural College, dates from 1899. The present organisation was created in October 2012.

Does SRUC accept international students?

Yes, and it works with authorised agents in a number of countries. Fees are published separately for higher and further education and for international students, so make sure any figure you are given is the right one for a degree.

What to do next

Two things settle an SRUC application, and neither is about the college itself. First, confirm in writing which university awards your specific course. Second, confirm that a ranked institution is not a condition of whoever is funding you – and if it is, ask whether the awarding university satisfies it.

Send us the course and the country you are applying from and we will establish the awarding body, the correct higher education fee and the entry requirement in your own qualification – the three things that are genuinely hard to pin down for this institution. Immigration questions belong with GOV.UK, which is the authority on the rules, and we pass visa cases to partners.

Ask us whether SRUC fits your application

Sources, all read 14 September 2026: the Complete University Guide 2027 profile for SRUC Scotland’s Rural College, for the absence of a league table position and the rural specialist designation; SRUC’s own website, for the departmental structure, the fee arrangement, the international agent network and its charity and company registration; and the published record for the 1899 foundation, the 1990 and 2012 mergers, the six campuses, the student numbers, the consultancy and research estate, and the awarding arrangement with the Universities of Edinburgh and Glasgow.

What we did not check, and what we could not. We could not read a published international tuition fee; SRUC’s fee pages carry structure and navigation rather than figures, so this page quotes no fee rather than an estimated one. The awarding arrangement is not stated on SRUC’s own front pages – we checked its home page, its Study With Us section and its International section, and none of them names the University of Edinburgh or the University of Glasgow – so we have taken it from the published record and told you to confirm it course by course. The student figure is from 2019/20 and is the most recent we found. Free photographs of SRUC’s other five campuses were not available, so this page carries one, of the Edinburgh site.

Scroll to Top